Chemical & Petroleum Engineering Department



2022 Spring Awards Banquet

KU Burge Union Saturday, April 23rd

Awards Presentation

Alumni Hall of Fame

Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant | Chemical & Petroleum Engineering

Frank Bowdish Outstanding PhD in Chemical Engineering

Maloney Award for Writing

Outstanding Freshmen | Chemical & Petroleum Engineering

Outstanding Sophomore | Chemical & Petroleum Engineering

Outstanding Junior | Chemical & Petroleum Engineering

Fred Kurata Thermodynamics Award

Vincent Imbler Outstanding Senior | Chemical & Petroleum Engineering

Outstanding Senior Design | Chemical & Petroleum Engineering

Undergraduate Research Award

Best Senior Laboratory Group in Chemical Engineering

Academic Achievement in Chemical Engineering

Merrill A. Jones Service Award in Petroleum Engineering

Raymond Oenbring Teaching Award

Departmental Honors

About the Chemical and Petroleum Engineering Hall of Fame

In 1996, The University of Kansas Department of Chemical and Petroleum Engineering established the Alumni Hall of Fame to honor its outstanding graduates. The goal of this award is to seek out individuals who have made important contributions to the Chemical or Petroleum Engineering professions, the Chemical and Petroleum Engineering Department, or the School of Engineering, or have been outstanding role models for current and future engineering students.

Each nominee is a graduate of the KU Chemical and Petroleum Engineering department and has made noteworthy contributions to the theory or practice of engineering. Each have given substantial service to our profession, or the University of Kansas. The department is proud of the remarkable contributions made by each Hall of Fame Recipient. We are honored by their commitments to excellence and their presence this evening.

Presenting The 2022 Chemical and Petroleum Engineering Hall of Fame Inductees

Frank Tsuru and Jim Edgars



Frank D. Tsuru

Frank Tsuru co-founded Momentum Midstream in 2004 and currently serves as its CEO. In addition to his executive role at Momentum, he was the President and CEO of Indigo Natural Resources, an E&P company operating primarily in North Louisiana prior to its sale in 2021.

Upon graduating from the University of Kansas, Tsuru joined TXO Production Corp as a drilling and production engineer. In 1991, he co-founded Southwestern Production Corp. producing coal bed

methane in SW Colorado. In 1995, he was asked to be President and COO of Red Cedar Gathering Co., In 2004, Frank Tsuru founded Momentum and then was asked to serve as the President of Indigo Natural Resources in 2016.

Tsuru is very involved with community, national and international philanthropic organizations. He currently serves on the boards of several non-profit and for-profit boards. He continues to be very active in the Boy Scouts of America serving as the President of the National Eagle Scout Association.

Frank is married to Stephanie Tsuru, and they have three children and three grandchildren all living in Houston with their families.

James H. Edgar

Dr. James H. Edgar earned his BS in chemical engineering from KU in 1981. His favorite courses were Physics III (quantum physics), Physical Chemistry (he received the 1980 Outstanding Student in Physical Chemistry Award) and Electronic Devices and Properties of Materials. He next earned his PhD at the University of Florida, studying the application of chemical engineering principles to the processing of electronic, optoelectronic, and photonic devices - the subsequent focus of his research. In 1988, he joined the Tim Taylor Department of Chemical Engineering at Kansas State University.

Dr. Edgar rose through the ranks ultimately becoming a University Distinguished Professor (2013) and serving as the head of the department from 2009 to 2019. He most frequently taught Thermodynamics and Materials Science and Engineering. He spent sabbaticals at the Naval Research Laboratory, Washington, DC, and Radboud University, the Netherlands, and was a director in the Electronic and Photonic Materials program at National Science Foundation (NSF) from 2019-2022.



His research was supported by the NSF, Office of Naval Research, and the Department of Energy, among others. As of 2022, he had co-authored more than 230 papers and advised 17 MS and 22 PhD students.

CONGRATULATIONS TO OUR AWARD WINNERS AND THE CLASS OF 2022!!



THANK YOU TO OUR STAFF AND FACULTY FOR ANOTHER GREAT YEAR!

